Recap of the 77th Annual Short Course

THLA Proudly Presents a Recap of the 77th Annual THLA Hotel Short Course!

THLA hosted this award-winning event for up-and-coming hotel leaders in 2024, and the Conrad N. Hilton College of Global Hospitality Leadership at the University of Houston, the Annual Hotel Short Course welcomed 107 participants.

THLA extends sincere appreciation to the industry leaders who generously shared their time and expertise as speakers for the short course. Their contributions played a pivotal role in earning recognition from the International Society of Hotel Associations as the country’s premier hotel industry educational program.

THLA is pleased to report overwhelmingly positive feedback from session attendees. Many participants lauded the sessions for enhancing their understanding of the hotel industry and providing a solid foundation for career advancement. Networking opportunities with fellow emerging hotel leaders, especially those from similar hotel brands, were highlighted as invaluable.

These connections foster lifelong industry relationships, enabling participants to access best practices and valuable resources as they progress in their careers.

Five Companies Rose to the Corporate Challenge Sending 10 or More Students

 THLA extends its gratitude to the San Antonio Hotel and Lodging Association (SAHLA), Omni Hotels & Resorts, Vortexa CYTP / BH Hospitality, Marriott Hotels, and Hilton Hotels & Resorts for meeting the corporate challenge. THLA also appreciates all hotel companies that invested in their emerging leaders by selecting them to attend the 77th Annual Hotel Short Course.

As tradition dictates, exemplary participants were honored at the graduation luncheon. Cedrick Cooley from the Courtyard Arlington South and Devin Marr from the Doubletree by Hilton San Antonio Airport achieved the highest final test scores.

Sommer Thompson from the Best Western Premiere (an Oldham Goodwin property), Angel Berry from the Holiday Inn Houston Bush Airport, and Amir Crawford from the Springhill Suites Stockyards (an Oldham Goodwin property) were nominated by their peers and recognized as Outstanding Students within their respective color groups.

Sommer Thompson was selected as the overall outstanding student for the 77th annual hotel short course and was awarded the 2024 James Taylor Outstanding Student Award, a prestigious accolade named after Dr. James Taylor, the founding Dean of the Conrad Hilton College of Hotel & Restaurant Management and founder of the Short Course 77 years ago.


THLA is Immensely Grateful for the Continued Support of Generous Sponsors

Thank you Landry’s, Hilton University of Houston, and Encore, whose contributions make the success of the THLA Hotel Short Course possible each year.


THLA eagerly anticipates hosting the 78th Annual Hotel Short Course in January 2025.

Search for Lodging

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *